top of page
Search
  • floraisabelperkins

A blog post where...I talk real racing.

I'm writing this as I head home from the second round of the British Team Cup series. My Dad and I are currently at a standstill on the M1. But the sun is out and it's given me a moment to write this post, so I'm not too fussed. Today's race was an hour’s crit (plus five laps) around Loughborough University campus. The race was called the Jose Gilbert Memorial Race in honour of the 26-year-old, Josephine Gilbert, who died after being hit whilst riding her bike in January of 2020. Her father gave a moving speech before the race began and we stood in silence for a moment to commemorate her. You can read more about that here.

It was tough and technical. The race was on from the gun with the hammer being put down by the Loughborough Lightning Team Captain, Frankie Hall. After a couple of laps, I managed to be in the group of six or so off the front. We ended up lasting the whole race and lapping a fair amount of the field. But after making a couple of positioning mistakes in the last lap, getting trapped in the sprint and generally feeling it in the legs, I came in fourth. The winner, Beth Morrow, had attacked on the last climb and split the group of six. I tried to get across to her and close the gap. I got stuck in no man’s land, and with two riders on my wheel, I was in a tricky spot. Do I work and lead them into the finish? Or do I drop back and just hope they make it to her? It’s a terrific result. And I am pleased. But I was so close to a podium!

There are some things to learn and to take away from the race but, after a tough 90km race around Redbridge Cycle Circuit the day before in which I took second to my teammate, Ellen Bennett, I am pleased with this result.

I've had a fairly successful and exciting past couple of weeks. Last weekend I travelled to Oxfordshire to compete in my first proper senior race, the Banbury Star Road Race. Again part of the British Team Cup series. My Dad’s family are from around there and came out en masse to support me. They made a lot of noise. And even made a banner! This made it all the more special when I took the win. After the last main climb, the infamous Edge Hill, I had a gap with a couple of others. The very same group had formed the lap previously, but this time there was more impetus to stay away. We had a shot at the win. We worked fairly well together, we had to because the gap was never massive. As we drew into the final climb up to the finish I went for it. I powered up the climb. One girl came around me but I kept going and as we crested the steeper bit of the hill I took the lead. From there I pushed on till the finish. I may say more about this race in another blog post.

I now have a half-term “break” full of revision in the run-up to my lower sixth (Year 12) summer exams. I’ll also be spending some time on my time trial bike as I prep for the National Circuit TT championships this weekend.


Winning Banbury Star



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page