top of page
Search
  • floraisabelperkins

The blog post where... I dip my toe into the world of ‘Testing’

Since my last post, I have had a birthday, gone back to school and dipped into a different side of the sport, Time Trials (TTs). I’ve done quite a few now, including the National 10 Mile Championships and the National Youth Championship Final (GHS) . As I write, I’ve completed six TTs since Cycling Time Trials returned to racing. And you can see how I’ve done here. I’ve enjoyed seeing improvements in times and started to take a slightly greater interest in the benefits of ’marginal gains’. Being fairly new to testing, it's taking a bit of time to get used to the feel of the individual effort, being so used to racing in a bunch. With little else available, TTs have provided a challenging late-season race calendar that I wasn't expecting to get. I also raced the National 25 MIle Championships recently (which I’ll write about in a different post) and this weekend I raced three very soggy 15 minute races in Abingdon, my first road race in a very long time. I managed to pick up three wins in that, which can only be good for morale. Coming up I have the National Closed Circuit Championships in Thruxton and then The National Circuit Championships. All very exciting. After this I plan to have a bit of a break and then come back rested and recovered, ready to get stuck in with training. This is the hope anyway, but nobody's plans seem to mean that much in the current climate.

At the National 10 mile Time Trial, sponsored by Merlin Cycles, Pictures by Larry Hickmott for VeloUK brought to you by Brother UK

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page